beauty / hair / tried & tested

Fancy B tests: Bumble and bumble’s Surf Infusion

IMG_7648

It may seem impossible to make a cult beauty product even better but that’s exactly what Bumble and bumble did with its Surf Spray. Surf Spray addicts, don’t panic: it still exists in its original formula but the brand added a newcomer to its Surf line. Surf Infusion is a salt-in-oil formula that mixes tropical oils – coconut, mango seed, passion fruit and palm oils – with texturizing sea salt to create soft, shiny waves and that is perfect for dry and/or coarse hair.

As any woman I love beach hair but I don’t like the crunchy feeling and the matte effect you often get with salt spray products that tend to dry out the hair due to the salt. Enter Surf Infusion. The oils keep your hair hydrated and looking healthy, the salt and Mineral Blend add body and texture. The Beach Protective Blend with coconut fruit and algae extracts promises to moisturise and nourish, while UV inhibitors help protect hair against the drying effects of the sun. Sounds impressive, right?

What better place to try the spray than a trulli villa with swimming pool in sunny Puglia? I don’t like to waste time in the bathroom with loads of hair styling products and a hair dryer when on holiday. As I have natural wavy hair that can end up a bit frizzy when I let it air dry, I prefer to prevent that with hydrating oils/styling products. I normally let my hair air dry until it’s almost completely dry and then put it up in a low bun until it’s completely dry to create soft waves. But I needn’t do that with Surf Infusion: I just spray it on towel dry hair – after washing and conditioning – and let the formula work its magic. The result: beach waves that are still soft to the touch and no frizz. Pretty impressive.

As there’s still salt in this product, I try to not use it too often to prevent my hair from drying out even more but I admit that’s a hard thing to do when the results are this good.

Leave a comment