beauty / inspiration / make-up

Make-up bag detox

IMG_0603

The contents of my beauty bag seem to be miraculously multiplying with every day of the week that passes. I start out with the basics but by the end of the week have added two red lipsticks, a pink one, a lip crayon, an eye pencil and a liner brush. You know, in case I want to change my make-uplook three times a day. To avoid a weekly make-up bag detox I have decided to keep my make-up bag light and filled with handy products. Because they’re small sized or because they’re practical multitaskers.

For perfect skin

Bobbi Brown’s Foundation Stick. This bestseller got a makeover. It promises seamless coverage, a long-wear formula and to adjust to your skin’s needs (moisturise or mattify when necessary). I like its creamy texture: you don’t need a lot of product, just swipe it on your face and blend. Handy when you don’t have the time to do your foundation properly at home in the morning.

Teint Terrybly by ByTerry (at Cosmeticary). This powder compact with Densiliss technology promises more than just evening out skin texture. Voluform promises to stimulate the collagen synthesis, vitamins A, C and E should help illuminate the complexion and protect from free radicals. I find it leaves skin feeling silky smooth and matte. And of course, the powder has the great By Terry roses smell. Ideal for touch-ups or on days when I don’t feel like wearing heavy foundation.

On lips/cheeks

Color Creme by MUD Make-Up Designory. Use it on lips and cheeks for a very natural, soft glow. I love its flat packaging as well, it’s just perfect for your make-up bag.

Clinique’s Chubby StickRight now I’m really into the Baby Tints that adapt to skin pH to create a personal colour on your lips. (Coming Up Rosy turns into a pretty pink.) It works on cheeks as well but don’t expect the same full-on colour as with a regular blush.

Bobbi Brown’s Art Stick in Bright Raspberry. The creamy formula stays put for a very long time and doesn’t dry out lips even though it has a matte finish. You only need one layer to get a lovely, deep colour. Use a bit of product on your cheeks to make them pop.

I-Crayon Lip and Cheek Tint by New CID Cosmetics. I got this as a freebie with Cosmopolitan UK and was quite impressed with it, until I discovered that it contains petrolatum and paraffinum liquidum. I prefer not to use those ingredients on my skin. (In short: they make your skin “lazy” so you’ll end up needing to use them all the time to keep your skin comfortable.) I try to avoid them on lips as well. If you don’t have anything against petrolatum derivatives, go ahead and use this. Plum Cordial is a lovely colour.

SOS smells

Travalo Refillable Fragrance Spray. I got mine at Ici Paris XL This comes in so handy when you’re traveling by public transport and need to smell something you actually like instead of the sickly sweet perfume of the woman in front of you on the bus or the body odour of the guy standing next to you. Great when you’re going on holiday, too. Fill it up and you’re good for a two week holiday.

Leave a comment