beauty / make-up / tried & tested

Fancy B tests: foundations

Finding the right foundation can be quite a kerfuffle. You obviously want the right colour (orange might be the new black, it just doesn’t look good on your skin) but you have to find the right texture for your skin and the effect you want as well. Right now, I tend to like natural looking foundations that cover but don’t mask your skin so it looks like you’re wearing nothing. Over the past couple of months I have been trying these four new (re)launches. And I do have a clear favourite.

Foundation

Clinique’s Chubby in the Nude Foundation Stick, € 31.

It was only a matter of time before Clinique launched a foundation stick in its massively successful Chubby range. This Chubby in the Nude promises to stay put for 8 straight hours and promises a natural effect that you can build up from light to medium coverage. I love the chubby stick: it’s like foundation for dummies. You just draw some thick lines on your face, blend them with your fingers and done! It’s a creamy formula that feels comfortable on my skin and it covers enough redness and uneven skintone on a regular day. I like to seal foundation with powder to up its staying power but you needn’t necessarily do that with this stick.

Giorgio Armani’s Maestro Glow, € 68.

I absolutely adore the original Maestro Fusion Make-Up and its serumlike texture that turns matte on skin and just doesn’t budge. So I really wanted to like this glowy sister as well. But it’s just not for me. I do believe there is such a thing as too glowy skin: this fluid foundation makes my face look too shiny thanks to the tiny shiny particles hidden in the formula. If you love a good glow, you’ll adore this product. I’m not convinced.

Christian Dior’sDiorskin Forever Haute Perfection Tenue Extrême, € 52.

This creamy foundation promises to stay put for 16 hours and is perfect if you like a matte but luminous finish. I quite like this one but I don’t adore it. It stays put a long time, it’s easy to apply because it is so creamy, a little goes a long way and the finish is matte without looking deadly. Still, I don’t often go for this one when choosing a foundation in the morning.

Chanel’s Les Beiges Teint Belle Mine Healthy Glow Foundation, € 50.

And we have a winner! If you’re looking for a healthy glow, a natural finish and a comfortable texture, this foundation is the one you should shop for. (It promises to protect skin from pollution as well, which is a bonus.) I’ve actually received compliments while wearing this foundation, with people telling me how fresh and nice my skin looked. As the finish is sheer and natural, I have to use some concealer on days when my cheeks have very red patches. If not, this foundation is perfect.

One thought on “Fancy B tests: foundations

Leave a comment